KAIKAWA Tetsuo was born in Hyogo prefecture and began his ballet training at Hiragushi Ballet Himeji and Ushioda Hiroko Ballet School. Tetsuo went abroad to study at Vaganova Ballet Academy and graduated in 1998. He then went on to continue his studies at the Princess Grace Academy of Dance in Monaco the following year. He later joined the New National Ballet of Japan in 2000 and was promoted to Soloist in 2004. Major awards and achievements include second place in the men's senior category at the 1996 Kobe National Dance Competition and Himeji-City Arts and Culture Award in 2012./p>

Repertoire with NBJ includes

  • Wayne EAGLING's production: The Sleeping Beauty (King Florestan, Aurora's Suitor)
  • Alexei FADEECHEV's production: Don Quixote (Basilio)
  • MAKI Asami's productions: Swan Lake (Prince Siegfried, Rothbart), The Nutcracker (Prince, Arabia), Raymonda (Spanish Dance)
  • Konstantin SERGEYEV's production: The Sleeping Beauty (Prince Désiré), Swan Lake (Prince Siegfried, Rothbart), Giselle (Duke Courland)
  • Frederick ASHTON: Cinderella (Prince, Wellington)
  • George BALANCHINE: Symphony in C (2nd Movement Principal)
  • David BINTLEY: Aladdin (Gold), Galanteries, 'Still Life' at the Penguin Café (Rainforest Family), The Prince of the Pagodas (King of the South)
  • Nacho DUATO: Por Vos Muero, Jardi Tancat
  • Boris EIFMAN: Anna Karenina (Vronsky)
  • HIRAYAMA Motoko: Ag+G
  • ISHII Jun: Carmen (José)
  • KANAMORI Jo: String(s) piece, solo for 2
  • Kenneth MACMILLAN: Manon (Monsleur G.M.), Romeo and Juliet (Paris)
  • OGURA Sachiko: Snow White (Prince Lex)
  • Twyla THARP: In the Upper Room
  • Peter DARRELL: Tales of Hoffmann (Lindorf)