Ballet & Dance

Roland Petit's COPPELIA

2008/2009 Season Ballet

Roland Petit's COPPELIA


<Sample Movie> Please click here

Choreography : Roland Petit
Music : Léo Delibes

Swanilda : Motojima Miwa(26th, 27th(S), 30th)
Terashima Hiromi(27th(M))
Ono Ayako(28th(M))
Tamara Rojo(28th(S), 29th)
Franz : Yamamoto Ryuji(27th(M))
Emoto Taku(27th(S), 30th)
Yahata Akimitsu(28th(M))
José Manuel Carreño(26th, 28th(S), 29th)
Coppelius : Luigi Bonino(26th, 27th(S), 28th, 29th, 30th)
Guennadi Iline(27th(M), 28th(M))

and the artists of New National Theatre Ballet, Tokyo

26 27 28 29 30
Fri Sat Sun Mon Tue
2:00   X X    
6:30   X X    
7:00 X     X X
Doors will open 45 minutes before the opening of the performance.

  Available from Saturday 21 March, 2009 at 10:00am.
To order tickets, please call +81-3-5352-9999 (10:00am-6:00pm).
Internet ticket reservation available through the following Websites.(Japanese only)

TICKET PRICES (with tax)
  S A B C D Z
Price(yen) 10,500 8,400 6,300 4,200 3,150 1,500
<Seating Plan> Please click here

A Roland Petit masterpiece that can only be seen at NNTT
Innovatively interpreted and choreographed, Roland Petit’s “Coppélia” was premiered at Le Ballet National de Marseille in 1976. Previous stagings of “Coppélia” had been firmly grounded in 19th century ethos and spirit, however Petit’s “Coppélia” is set in modern times, and the theme of life and love successfully transcends eras.
Not to mention the unique humor and chic French taste featured on this stage, there is a memorable ending that will leave you engrossed with a message, which won’t fade with repeat viewing.


Coppelius is an aging dandy who looks good in a frock coat. He is infatuated with the much younger Swanilda, but Swanilda has eyes only for her lover Franz, and merely toys with Coppelius. In Coppelius's lonely lodgings there is a doll that looks exactly like Swanilda. If only one day something would breathe life into the doll and turn it into a human being....

Terashima Hiromi Terashima Hiromi Motojima Miwa Ono Ayako
Tamara Rojo Motojima Miwa Terashima Hiromi Ono Ayako

Yamamoto Ryuji Yamamoto Ryuji Emoto Taku Yahata Akimitsu
José Manuel Carreño Yamamoto Ryuji Emoto Taku Yahata Akimitsu

Page top